Bangladesh squad for Pakistan T20s announced

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 15:30, Jan 18, 2020 | Updated : 16:29, Jan 18, 2020

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the squad for the upcoming T20 series against Pakistan, with a surprise pick of uncapped seamer Hasan Mahmud.

Mahmud has performed tremendously in the recently-ended Bangabangdhu BPL for the Dhaka Platoons.
Batting allrounder Mahmudullah will lead the 15-man squad in the series scheduled from Jan 24 to 27.


Mahmudullah (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Kumar Das (wc), MD Mithun, Afif Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud.

 In the first leg of the split Pakistan series, Bangladesh team will leave for Lahore on Thursday (Jan 23), the BCB said in a media statement on Saturday (Jan 18).

Following months of negotiations, Bangladesh, which initially only wanted to play T20s, agreed to tour Pakistan for ODI, Tests in a series split over four months.

In the revised arrangement, Bangladesh will play three T20s now before returning to Pakistan for a test match starting on Feb 7 in Rawalpindi that will be a part of the ICC World Championship.

After the Pakistan Super League ends in March, Bangladesh will play an ODI in Karachi on Apr 3, with the second test starting two days later at the same venue.

Tests against Sri Lanka last month in Rawalpindi and Karachi were Pakistan's first on home soil since a militant attack on Sri Lanka's team bus in Lahore in 2009.

More on Bangladesh cricket

Pakistan announces T20 squad to face Bangladesh

Domingo wants Bangladesh to follow India template in tests

Bangladesh to split Pakistan tour