Awami League's Moslem wins Chattogram by-polls

Staff Correspondent, Chattogram
Published : 21:28, Jan 13, 2020 | Updated : 23:33, Jan 13, 2020

AL's Moslem Uddin Ahmed has won the by-polls to the Chattogram-8 parliamentary seat by a wide margin.
Returning Officer Muhamamd Hasanuzzaman unofficially announced the result around 9pm on Monday (Jan 13).
The returning officer informed that 22.94% vote was cast at the by-polls.
Moslem bagged 87,246 votes followed by BNP's Mohamamd Abu Sufian, who fetched 17,935 votes.
Chairman of Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF) SM Abul Kalam Azad bagged 1,185 votes, Syed Mohammad Farid Uddin of Islamic Front Bangladesh 992 votes, Bapon Dasgupta of NAP 656 votes and independent candidate Mohammad Emdadul Haque 567 votes.
The Chattogram-8 (Boalkhali-Chandgaon) constituency fell vacant following the death of Moin Uddin Khan Badal in November last year.
Badal, the executive president of a faction of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasod), was elected MP with Awami League's symbol “boat” in the last general election.
He died on Nov 7 while being treated at a hospital in India's Bangalore at the age of 67.