Heavyweights among 1700 collect AL nomination on first day

Mahabub Hasan
Published : 22:42, Nov 09, 2018 | Updated : 22:50, Nov 09, 2018

Combination of file photos shows Sheikh Hasina, (clockwise) Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Fazle Rabbi Miah, Obaidul Quader and Syed Ashraful Islam.Over 1,700 people including several heavyweight leaders of the ruling Awami League have collected nomination papers to contest on party tickets in the 11th Parliamentary Election, due on Dec 23.
AL opened distribution of its nomination papers at the party chief Sheikh Hasina’s political office at the capitals Dhanmondi at 10am on Friday for the first day.
The first and second nomination papers were collected on behalf of party President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina by AL Religious Affairs Secretary Sheikh Abdullah and Standard Bank Chairman Kazi Akram Uddin Ahmed.
“A little over 1,700 forms have been distributed till 7pm,” AL Office Secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap told Bangla Tribune.
Hasina will contest in Gopalganj-3 constituency. However, it was as yet unclear in which another constituency she would vie.
The other heavyweight leaders, who collected Friday’s nomination papers, are Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury (Rangpur-4 constituency), Obaidul Quader (Noakhali-5, Public Administration Minister and former AL general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam (Kishoreganj-1), Deputy Leader of the House Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury (Faridpur-2) and Deputy Speakers Fazle Rabbi Miah (Gaibandha-2 and Natore-4), Finance Minister AMA Muhith (Sylhet-1), AL Organising Secretaries AFM Bahauddin Nasim (Madaripur-3), Office Secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap (Madaripur-3), and Local Government Minister Engineer Khandaker Mosharraf (Faridpur-3 constituency).
Thousands of party activists gathered at the Dhanmondi office and its adjacent area to accompany their leaders since the distribution of nomination forms opened.
Forms distribution would continue until further notice, said AL Secretary Quader early in the day.