Who is BNP's pick for Chattogram 8 by-polls?

Salman Tareque Sakil
Published : 07:30, Dec 03, 2019 | Updated : 07:30, Dec 03, 2019

(L-R) Abdullah Al Noman,  M Morshed Khan, and Abu Sufian.

The Election Commission (EC) has declared that Chattogram-8 by-election will be held on Jan 13, 2020. BNP will be contesting the seat, comprising Boalkhali, Chandgaom Pashlaish and Bayazid. But its candidate has not been decided yet.
Some BNP leaders say that this is a move by BNP to increase their seats in parliament. Following this strategy, the BNP high command wanted Mahmudur Rahman Manna, one of the leaders of the Oikya Front, for the Bogura-6 seat. But as Manna disagreed, GM Siraj was picked as a candidate and won.
For Chattogram-8, the BNP wants to put up an influential and politically savvy candidate. The seat was vacated following the death JSD executive president Main Uddin Khan.
On Saturday (Nov 30), the election schedule was declared. One BNP source says that Vice Chairman of the party Abdullah Al Noman may well be the party nominee.
The name of recently retired vice president, M Morshed Khan, is also doing the rounds.
In the last parliamentary election, BNP leader Abu Sufian contested in Chattogram-8. But if the party is more confident about the prospects of Abdullah Al Noman, he will have to move aside.
BNP standing committee member, Barrister Jamiruddin Sircar, said: “We have not discussed the Chattogram-8 by-election as yet.”
Several sources say that party standing committee member, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury, may support his adherent Abu Sufian.