Dilal, Rashidul elected ERF president, GS

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 22:24, Aug 10, 2018 | Updated : 22:31, Aug 10, 2018

Saif Islam Dilal (rigtht) and SM Rashidul IslamSaif Islam Dilal, planning editor of Ekushey TV, and SM Rashidul Islam, senior reporter of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS), have been elected president and general secretary of Economic Reporters’ Forum (ERF) respectively for 2018-19.
Former National Press Club president Shawkat Mahmud, chairman of the ERF’s election commission, announced the result on Friday (Aug 10) after its biennial general meeting at its city office.
Dilal bagged 97 votes to beat his lone opponent Kawser, who secure 72 votes.
Rashidul Islam secures 89 votes while his two contestants -- Rezvi Newaz and Mohammed Syful Islam -- bagged 46 votes and 33 votes respectively.
Syed Shahnewaz Karim, who bagged highest 103 votes, winning the vice-president to bet while Bijwajit Dutta, who got 65 votes.
Md Golam Moinul Ahsan and Mohammed Shahjahan Siraj were made assistant general secretary and finance secretary respectively.
Four executive members – Doulot Akter Mala, Sunity Kumar Biswas, Salah Uddin Bablu and Ashraful Islam – were also elected unopposed earlier.
A total of 170 voters out of 186 cast their votes in the election.