PM inaugurates Bangabandhu BPL

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 20:00, Dec 08, 2019 | Updated : 20:25, Dec 08, 2019

PM Sheikh Hasina is inaugurating Bangabandhu BPL on Sunday (Dec 8). PHOTO: Sazzad Hossain/Bangla TribunePrime Minister Sheikh Hasina has inaugurated Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BBPL), the special edition of the T20 cricket championship to mark Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahaman’s birth centenary in 2020.
Thanking all present spectators, the premier has announced the opening of the grand event at 6:55pm on Sunday (Dec 8) standing on the special balcony built for her at the capital's Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The opening function of the BBPL was set in two parts with the local star singers in shape of James, Momtaz and others ruled the rooster in the first part.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina witnessed the gleeful second part of the ceremony taken care by the entertainers like Indian singers Sonu Nigam and Kailash Kher along with Bollywood superstars Salman Khan and Katrina Kaif.

Opening ceremony of Bangabandhu BPL on Sunday (Dec 8). PHOTO: Sazzad Hossain/Bangla Tribune

Several giant LED screens were installed across the country, including nine in and around the stage, to host one of the biggest programmes of this era in Bangladesh.

The seven teams participating in this special edition of BPL are Dhaka Platoon, Chattogram Challengers, Comilla Warriors, Khulna Tigers, Rangpur Rangers, Rajshahi Royals and Sylhet Thunder.

Along with top Bangladeshi cricketers, many international stars will also feature in this edition of BPL.

A total of 46 matches will be played. In the league phase, 42 matches will be played while in the playoffs, a total of four matches will take place. The BPL final will be held on January 17, 2020.