Victorians clinch BPL title after Tamim’s fiery ton

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 22:38, Feb 08, 2019 | Updated : 23:17, Feb 08, 2019

A fiery century by Tamim Iqbal coupled with a four-wicket haul by Wahab Riaz helped Comilla Victorians to lift their second title of the Bangladesh Premier League T20 in Dhaka on Friday (Feb 8).
Tamim’s 141 not out off 61 balls guided Victorians to post 199 for three before they restricted Dhaka Dynamites to 182 for nine in the final battle at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the city’s Mirpur.
Dynamites lost the first batsman in the second ball of the innings but went well as Upul Tharanga and Rony Talukdar built a 101-run partnership in the second wicket.
Tharanga scored 48 off 27 balls and Rony hit 66 off 38 balls before leaving the crease.
Dynamites, however, continued to lose wickets and finished at 182 for nine.
For Victorians, Wahab was the best bowler taking three wickets, including Shakib Al Hasan and Kieron Pollard. Thisara Perera and Mohammad Saifuddin bagged two wickets apiece.
Earlier, Tamim hit as many as 10 fours and 11 sixes to score his first century in BPL.
The left-hander shared 91 runs and 100 runs with Anamul Haque (24 off 30 balls) and Imrul Kayes (17 not out off 21 balls) for the second and third wicket respectively after Rubel Hossain removed Evin Lewis out for six.
Shakib Al Hasan trapped Anamul Haque leg-before to take his tally 23 wickets in the tournament, the highest in this year’s BPL.
With Friday’s match result, Dynamites suffered two successive losses in BPL final, after they had lost to Rangpur Riders in the previous editions final.
Comilla won their first BPL title in 2015 with win over Barisal Bulls in the final.