Flights from 10 countries banned till Apr 15

Bangla Tribune Desk
Published : 13:44, Mar 29, 2020 | Updated : 14:09, Mar 29, 2020

The government has informed all diplomatic missions abroad, UN agencies, and other international organizations that no international airport in Bangladesh will be allowed to operate flights from 10 nations till Apr 15.

The countries are Bahrain, India, Kuwait, Malaysia, Oman Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Turkey, and the UAE.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs made the announcement over the ongoing coronavirus pandemic through a note verbale received on Saturday (Mar 28) night.

However, the note also said commercial flights to and from China, Hong Kong, Thailand and UK will continue operation until further notice.

At the same time, it also mentioned that national flag carrier Biman Bangladesh Airlines will not operate flights to and from the UK, in both London and Manchester, for seven days from Mar 30.

On Saturday, the Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) extended the suspension of passenger flights to all countries except the United Kingdom and China till Apr 7 amid the global outbreak of coronavirus.

On Mar 15, Bangladesh suspended on-arrival visas for all countries for two weeks. Passengers from all European countries except the UK will not be allowed to enter Bangladesh until Mar 31.