BNP’s Fakhrul, 15 others get 2 weeks to surrender

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 22:15, Aug 21, 2019 | Updated : 22:17, Aug 21, 2019

Jatiya Oikya Front spokesperson and BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir speaks to the reporters in Thakurgaon on Saturday (Dec 29).Sixteen BNP bigwigs including its secretary general have been asked to surrender before a lower court within two weeks in a case filed over carrying out subversive activities and obstruction of police duty.
The leaders are: Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Standing Committee members Mirza Abbas, Moudud Ahmed, Nazrul Islam Khan, Goyeshwar Chandra Roy, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury, Vice Chairman Khandaker Mahbub Hossain, Barrister Moinul Hossain, Ganashastha Institute founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury, Manjur Ershad, Barkatullah Bulu, AZM Zahid Hossain, Ruhul Kuddus Talukder Dulu, Md Shahjahan, Advocate Shakhawat Hossain, Haji Salahuddin and Md Aminur Rahman.
The Appellate Division order reached the trial court on Wednesday (Aug 21), confirmed Barrister AKM Ahsanur Rahman.
On Apr 18, the top court passed the order, saying that the defendants must surrender within two weeks of the order reaching the lower court.
It also told the lower court to take into consideration their bail plea should they appeal after surrendering.
On Oct 2 last year, police brought charges of subversive activities and obstruction of police duty against 55 BNP leaders.
According to the case document, BNP supporters hurled crude bombs on police in the city’s Moghbazar on Jul 31, 2018, hours after the party’s rally at the Suhrawardy Udyan.