List of Razakars to be published on Sunday

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 18:54, Dec 14, 2019 | Updated : 20:00, Dec 14, 2019

Photo shows a Bengali woman after being raped by the Pakistani military during the War of Independence in 1971, PHOTO/Naib Uddin Ahmed via

The government will publish the list of Razakars, who collaborated with the Pakistan army in the 1971 Liberation War, on Sunday (Dec 15).
Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Huque is set to unveil the list before the media at at his offices in Dhaka, says a statement by the ministry on Friday (Dec 14).
The minister will also release the list (phase-I) of freedom freighters at the press briefing, it adds.
This list will be out a day before Bangladesh will celebrate the Victory Day on Monday (Dec 16).
Minister Mozammel said the government moved to release the name to let the new generation know about the collaborators who opposed the birth of Bangladesh.
He said the fresh list would name the collaborators who received payment and arms from the Pakistan government during the Liberation War as well as the others whose names have come in the list prepared by local administration.
“The part-I of the list will be out on Sunday with the rest will be published in phases,” he added.
The Home Ministry started listing the name of the collaborators who received payment from the Pakistan government during the Liberation War in 1971 after letters were issued by the Liberation War Affairs Ministry.
In the letters, the deputy commissioners (DCs) were told to prepare the rajakar’s list using their respective district’s archive and publish it in the gazette, Shajahan Khan, chairman of the ministry’s Parliamentary Standing Committee, told the media on Aug 25 this year.
Earlier in May, the House panel said a Demi-Official (DO) letter had been sent to the Home Ministry and deputy commissioners to archive the list of razakars, Al Badr, Al-Shams and the anti-liberation forces.
The committee also recommended including those members in the list who were given the parliamentary seats of the elected Awami League leaders in 1970.