Nearly 550 aspirants challenge returning officers’ decision

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 19:42, Dec 05, 2018 | Updated : 19:44, Dec 05, 2018

The 11th parliamentary national polls is slated for Dec 30,2018. File PhotoA total of 543 petitions have been filed with the Election Commission challenging the decisions of the returning officers across the country over the rejection and acceptance of nomination papers submitted by aspirants to contest the national election.
On the last day of filing appeals, Wednesday, 222 aspirants filed their documents followed by 237 on Tuesday and 84 on Monday, Commission’s Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed told the media.
Most of the appeals have been filed challenging election officials’ decisions cancelling nominations.
The Commission will dispose of the petitions over the three days from Thursday. Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda will lead the hearings with the four other commissioners, he said.
“The Commission will give its decision immediately after holding the hearing,” said Secretary Ahmed before adding that the first 160 appeals will be disposed of on Thursday while on Friday the next 150 and the remaining on Saturday.
On Wednesday when the deadline for filing appeals ended, a petition from jailed BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia was submitted challenging the rejection of nomination papers filed for Bogura-6 and 7, and Feni-1 constituencies.
Immediate past Jatiya Party Secretary General ABM Ruhul Amin Hawlader (Patuakhali-1), Jatiya Party aspirant film actor Sohel Rana (Barishal-2), BNP runners Ruhul Quddus Talukder Dulu (Natore-2), Sabira Sultana (Jashore-2), Mir Nasir's son Barrister Mir Mohammad Helaluddin (Chattogram-5) and Dr AZM Zahid Hossain (Sherpur-3), independent aspirant Ganajagaran Mancha spokesperson Imran H Sarkar (Kurigram-4) were among those submitted petitions on the second day.
On Dec 2, returning officers across the country cleared the 2,279 aspirants and rejected 786 others who filed applications to run on the 300 constituencies for the 11th national election.
The last date for withdrawal of nomination is Dec 9 and the electoral symbols will be allotted to the candidates the next day, after which the official campaigning will kick-off.