Uncapped Jayed in Tigers' WC squad, Mosaddek back

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 12:52, Apr 16, 2019 | Updated : 16:02, Apr 16, 2019

Rookie swing bowler Abu Jayed earned a spot in Bangladesh's World Cup squad while batsman Mosaddek Hossain also made the cut in their squad for the showpiece tournament in England and Wales.
Chief selectors of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Minhajul Abedin and Habibul Bashar announced the squad in a press conference at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday (Apr 16).

Jayed, who has played only five tests and three Twenty20 internationals, was picked following his performances in the two-test series in New Zealand where he finished as the visitors' leading wicket-taker, reports Reuters.
Hossain, a middle order batsman who can bowl off-spin, last played for Bangladesh in the Asia Cup in September. He was not in the squad when they played Zimbabwe, West Indies and New Zealand across formats.
Three recovering players -- left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman, all-rounder Mahmudullah and paceman Rubel Hossain -- were also named in the squad. Pacer Taskin Ahmed, however, has been left out of the squad.
Mahmudullah recently started training after suffering a shoulder injury while Mustafizur has not fully recovered from an ankle problem. Rubel is recovering from a side strain.
All 10 participating teams will have to submit their 15-member squads by April 23, while injury replacements can be named until May 23.
Bangladesh begin their campaign against South Africa at the Oval in London on Jun 2.
They will face Pakistan on May 26 and India on May 28 for their two training matches. Both of the matches will be in Cardiff Wales Stadium.
Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (vice captain), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed

BCB also announced its squad for Ireland tri-series, to be played ahead of the World Cup.

Squad for Ireland tri-series
Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (C), Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Sabbir Rahman, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Mosaddek Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi and Naeeem Hasan.