Jatiya Party submits list of candidates for reserved seats

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 16:59, Feb 11, 2019 | Updated : 17:09, Feb 11, 2019

Four JP candidates for reserved women`s seatsHM Ershad-led Jatiya Party, the Opposition in the 11th National Parliament, has named four candidates for seats reserved for women in the House.
On Monday (Feb 11), Secretary General Moshiur Rahman Ranga submitted the party's list of candidates to the Election Commission.
The four candidates are Rowshan Ara Mannan, Salma Islam, Prof Masuda Rashid Chowdhury and Nazma Akter.
Speaking to the media outside the Commission offices, Ranga said, “The party committee, which was formed by the chairman, finalized the nominations.”
Among the 350 seats in parliament, 50 are reserved exclusively for women.
While the 300 parliamentary seats are contested in a direct election, the reserved seats are allocated to political parties in proportion to their number of seats in parliament.
Accordingly, 43 seats are allotted to the Awami League, four to the Jatiya Party, one each to the BNP and the Workers’ Party while the independent candidates may receive one seat if they join the votes.
The election schedule for the reserved seats will be announced on Feb 17, the Election Commission has said.