BNP’s Fakhrul, Mosharraf to contest for two seats each

Bangla Tribune Report
Published : 13:26, Dec 08, 2018 | Updated : 13:53, Dec 08, 2018

BNP's National Standing Committee member Dr Khandakar Mosharraf Hossain and Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir The BNP has given final nominations to two of its top brass the party ticket to contest the polls in two constituencies each.
The party’s policymaking National Standing Committee member Khandakar Mosharraf Hossain has bagged the party ticket for the Cumilla-1 and 2 constituencies.
Meanwhile, BNP’s Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir will be contesting for the Thakurgaon-1 seat, as well as the Bogra-6 constituency instead of party Chief Khaleda Zia.
On Dec 2, the returning officers scrapped all three of Khaleda’s nomination on the grounds of her currently serving a 10 year jail term.
The former prime minister has filed an appeal with the Election Commission challenging the rejection of her nomination papers for the Bogra-6, 7 and Feni-1 constituencies.
Should the EC scarp her appeal, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir will run for her Bogra-6 seat, Jubodal President Rafiqul Islam Majnu in Feni-1 and Morshed Milton in Bogra-7.