Central leaders, MPs among 14 show caused by AL leadership

Pavel Haider Chowdhury
Published : 22:16, Sep 10, 2018 | Updated : 20:13, Sep 11, 2018

The ruling Awami League's move comes as internal feuds are reported from units across the country.The Awami League has served show-cause notices to 14 leaders, including an organising secretary, a member of its central body and three lawmakers.
The notices signed by General Secretary Obaidul Quader have been dispatched on Monday (Sept 10) from the party chief’s Dhanmondi offices.
The letters sent to the three MPs — Manoranjan Shill Gopal of Dinajpur-1, Md. Abdul Wadud of Rajshahi-5 and Dhirendra Debnath Shambhu of Barguna-1.
The lawmakers told Bangla Tribune that they were yet to receive the show cause notices.
They have been given 15 days to explain in writing whether they have discharged their responsibilities to maintain the party’s discipline. The notices said that they have been show caused in line with a decision taken at the Sept 6 meeting of the party’s Central Working Committee.
Both of the central leaders served with show-cause notices hail from the northeastern Sylhet.
They are Organising Secretary Md Misbah Uddin Siraj and former mayor Badaruddin Ahmed Kamran, who sits on the party’s central body as well as serves as the president of the Sylhet metro unit.
Kamran, who got the party’s ticket for the recently-held city polls, lost to BNP candidate Ariful Haque Chowdhury, who has been elected for a straight second term.
He has been asked to explain over his failure over locking party-backed candidates in seven city corporation wards for the polls as well as for not constituting the committee for the party’s Sylhet metro unit.
Organising Secretary Siraj has been told to explain over his controversial role during the city polls.
The nine other leaders belong to the party’s units in Dinajpur, Barguna and Sylhet.
The leaders from Barguna and Dinajpur have been asked to explain over their move to declare the local MPs persona non grata while the Sylhet leaders on the recently-held city corporation elections.