Three pull out of Gaibandha 3 election

Gaibandha Correspondent
Published : 19:43, Jan 10, 2019 | Updated : 19:45, Jan 10, 2019

As many as three candidates have withdrawn their candidacy from the elections to Gaibandha-3 constituency, slated for Jan 27, says a district’s election official.
“With the three leaving the race on last day to withdraw the candidacy on Thursday (Jan 10), a total of five candidates will now contest the polls,” election officer Mahabubur Rahman told Bangla Tribune.
Those who pulled dropped out of the race are Jatiya Oikya Front’s Candidate Dr Moinul Hossain Sadik, Islami Andalon Bangladesh’s Hanif Dewan and BaSad’s (Khalequzzaman) Sadekul Islam.
Those who will contest the polls are – Awami League’s candidate Dr Yunus Ali Sarkar, Jatiya Party’s Dilara Khandakar Shilpi, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JSD’s SM Khademul Islam Khudi, National People’s Party’s Mizanur Rhaman Titu and independent candidate Abu Zafar Md Zahid.
Polls campaign, however, will kick off after the election office will allocate the electoral symbol to the candidates on Friday (Jan 11).
“All-out preparation is set to hold the polls in a peaceful manner,” said Rahman
Elections to Gaibnadha 3 (Palashpur and Saduallpur) were rescheduled to Jan 27 after the death of Oikya Front candidate TIM Fazle Rabbi Chowdhury on Dec 20.
With a total of 811,854 voters, Gaibnadha 3 constituency encompasses with Palashpur and Saduallpur Upazilas.
Related Story
BNP’s Gaibandha-3 candidate drops out of race