Seven Tangail BNP leaders sent to jail

Tangail Correspondent
Published : 11:09, Nov 05, 2018 | Updated : 11:11, Nov 05, 2018

TangailA court in Tangail has sent seven BNP leaders to jail after rejecting their bail plea on Sunday (Nov 4).

Local BNP leaders including Sakhipur Upazila Parishad Vice Chairman and Upazila BNP Organization Muhammad Sabur Reza appeared before the court with fresh bail-pleas after their temporary bail-period, granted by the High Court, ended.

The other BNP leaders are Sakhipur Municipal BNP President Nazim Uddin Master, General Secretary Mir Abul Hashem, Joint-General Secretary Pavel Talukder, Jubo Dal President Tofazzal Hossain, Municipal Juba Dal President Kamrul Shikder and Jadabpur union BNP President Akbar Hossain.

Upazila BNP President Shajahan Shazu told Bangla Tribune that Sakhipur police arrested six BNP leaders and activist on Sept 7 on allegations of causing violence. Later a case was filed where 16 people and unidentified 70-80 others have been named as accused.

The seven BNP leaders were on bail in the case until Sunday when they appeared before the court seeking to get fresh bails, he added.